Mitchell-Lama Mama’s Blog

an ordinary life in an extraordinary city

Tricky Sense of Time May 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — mitchelllamamama @ 6:20 pm
Tags: ,

I’m wondering why the days fly by so quickly, and yet each week stretches on forever.  Am I the only one with this perception?  

 

I’m not sure I could get any less sleep than I do and function long term, but still I run out of time each day.  Twenty four hours should be enough, no?  But it never is.  Each day ends with Mama feeling guilty because I didn’t _________.  If I clean I didn’t write.  If I write I didn’t do laundry.  If I do laundry I didn’t shop.  If I shop I didn’t play with the girl.  If I play with the girl I didn’t blog.  And on and on, no end in sight.  I think the world would end if I made time to *gasp* read.  

 

Somehow I’m sure I should be grateful I have so much to do, right?  Somehow.  But then every morning I wake up thinking it must be Friday, and it still isn’t.  

 

I did accomplish something yesterday–I think.   😛  I tried to kill the aiptasia (pest anemone) again, and I haven’t seen it resurface since.  It must be morally wrong to be so happy to kill something, but I admit it.  Alone in the living room, by the light of the tank, Mama did a happy dance.   😀

 

5 Responses to “Tricky Sense of Time”

  1. CasaDe Says:

    Same here – time rushes sluggishly on!

    I’m trying to milk it for all it’s worth right now, but that doesn’t seem to be an option!

  2. Susan Says:

    I feel the days are SO long yet the weeks FLY by. Can it be I finished another school year? Sometimes I feel like i wish my life away ( I wish it was winter recess, spring break, and so on) Next year I will be looking for colleges for my older son (MY BABY) 😦 My DH called me today and asked me to sign a petition? “HUH,” i said, he said IT SHOULD BE FRIDAY already and he was protesting lol. He felt this week was extremely long.
    Mama, it isn’t wrong to be happy to kill something that is destroying the little ecosystem in your house. IF ONLY…. OK, I wont tread. NO politics 😉
    Lets talk weather> WHEN will we see sunshine?
    OK I do the whole rationale thing 😛 <schoolwork<housework<blogging<socializing<traveling<work, work <gym. I run out of hours in the day!!!!! I need more TIME!!!

    Casa, how are you feeling?

    • CasaDe Says:

      I’m healthy but tense. Could all of you please stop rushing the time by? I have only 2 1/2 months left!!

      Good news for you: We’ve had sun and warm temps for about two days, so it should be headed your way soon!

      I’ll trade my good weather for slower time. That way you have more time to enjoy the sun. Deal? 🙂

  3. Philly Mom Says:

    Love the happy dance image! 🙂 Go, Mama! Kill those pests! Just think of them as cockroaches of the aquarium world!

    Time seems to be dragging around here these days….way too much to do and yet there seem to be 100 hours in a day–I think I need to sleep more! LOL.

    TGIF and I hope there is some Friday Night Madness for you tonight (and sooooo wishing I could pop in!).

    Hugs!!

    p.s. Hi Susan and CasaDe!

  4. Susan Says:

    Waves to Philly mom!! LOL stomp out the roaches, I think you may be on to sumthin! 😀
    OK ok Casa! I will stop rushing (AFTER Tuesday, my last final :P)
    I think we received a LITTLE sun today < SEND MORE or the deal is OFF!! Glad you are healthy, try and RELAX!! (easier said then done)


Leave a Reply

