Mitchell-Lama Mama’s Blog

an ordinary life in an extraordinary city

Day of Rest April 23, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — mitchelllamamama @ 4:53 pm
Tags:

If, by rest, you mean get up, get the children ready for school, take them to school, walk dog, start to cook gumbo, go to hospital to help mama-in-law get discharged and take her home, get to her home, find papa-in-law unable to walk with a very swollen ankle, figure out makeshift ice packs for him, go get lunch for both of them, then come home, finish cooking gumbo, and feed the tank.  I really don’t understand why I’m always tired, do you?   😛  

 

Grumble grumble grumble ROAR.  I hurt my back on Sunday evening, it’s definitely improving, but still.  How did I hurt it, you ask?  Unclogging the toilet, of course.  A regular activity that all of my city friends engage in. I want to know, does everyone in the world have these ridiculous low flush toilets, or is it just in NYC apartments?   Mama is all for saving the earth, conserving energy, conserving water, etc, but shouldn’t the toilets still work?  How much more water is being used by pouring it down toilets to unclog them by shaving a few gallons off of the regular flush?  

 

Between the weather, the toilets, and a cost of living so high I’ve practically got the kids counting out the Cheerios into the bowl to make the box last longer, Mama is feeling very, very done with this city.  New York state of mind my patootie!

 

4 Responses to “Day of Rest”

  1. Susan Nagy Says:

    I’m sorry you hurt your back. I hope it feels better soon. Why is it that going green makes us see red? We are required to recycle cans and bottles. They do a separate pick up and the animals make a mess of my garbage because of it. (they only come once a week) I , too , understand we need to preserve Mother Earth, but can’t she she be a little more understanding?
    Mama, come live with me Out EAST!! We can be beach buddies!!!
    THESE economic times REALLY are tough 😦 I hear it and see it daily. Will it EVER get better? I hope your inlaws are feeling better.

  2. Barbara Says:

    If that was supposed to be a day of rest, I say that didn’t count! I’m glad your MIL is doing well, sorry about your FIL’s ankle : (
    You did enough running around to count for more than 1 day of work!

    Speaking of toilets – Yes! I think they should always work, and if yours is like mine, take everything down with 1 flush, not need an extra flush, an extra flush and more! So much for conservative toilets! : P When it came time for a new toilet in our other bath, I did much research and made sure it would work exactly rt. I don’t remember what kind it was, but it’s great! I have 3 toilets and I wish the other 2 worked just as good! TMI to tell you how much work it is to get Rachel’s medicated BMs to go down : 0

    I hope today is a beautiful AND warm. A fine “spring” day for you all in New York! Chgo is supposed to be 85 today : 0 Friday night madness for you and your friend? hope, hope…

    Hang in there!

  3. Hi Susan. LOL, I have a friend whose father says the Sanitation dept wants you to gift wrap the garbage for them. 😉 I do want to be beach buddies–I just want to be beach buddies down South–where the water is warm enough to enjoy it. 🙂

    Welcome Barbara! 🙂 I agree, yesterday was more than enough work, so today I’ve been taking it light. So..what does it say about me that I’m jealous of your toilet? 😛

  4. Philly Mom Says:

    Those stinkin’ low flush toilets are everywhere now that they are mandatory (I believe George Bush Senior did this, if I’m remembering correctly..). I tell my kids to flush after 3 wipes (TMI, I know..). I hate plunging. But yes, then they flush about 3 times instead of once and I think we end up using MORE water than before. UGHHHH.

    Hope you are having a nice weekend! wooo hooo to this weather!


Leave a Reply

