Mitchell-Lama Mama’s Blog

an ordinary life in an extraordinary city

Mama’s World February 10, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — mitchelllamamama @ 6:28 pm
Tags: , ,

Busy, busy, busy.  The house is a mess and the laundry has piled up again, yet I feel like I’ve barely had time to sit down.  

 

The first part of the girl’s med increase seemed like it was going very well.  By Sunday afternoon, not so much. 😦  This morning began the second half of the increase, and I haven’t heard from the nurse today, so I’m hoping this will do the trick.  

 

Sunday morning we got a visit from the young man I bought my tank from.  He’s very nice and patient with the children, a brilliant musician.  I was disgustingly pleased with myself when he complimented me on how clean it looks and how well the critters are thriving.  So pleased that I was driven to go to a local aquarium store and buy two new fish and a couple of new corals. 😛  Actually, Grandmama bought me the corals.  It’s very nice, everyone is getting into the tank with me and enjoys coming over to sit and reflect on my little ocean.  

 

Mama walks a couple of dogs (not mine) on occasion.  Nothing too regular, I can’t commit to anyone when I never know when the girl will need me. This is where the money for the tank critters and necessities comes from.  Sometimes I throw caution to the wind and use the money at the grocery store. 😉  I’ve had quite a few walks over the past several days (hence the new fishies), and btw the extra dogs, my dog, and running to the school, my feet are tired! 🙂  

 

My big guy is planning out his class schedule for next year, which of course involves many discussions btw him and I, him and Papa, Papa and me, the adviser and me….I am very proud of him, he works hard, does well, is a good person, and I just worry that he tends to take on too much.  Next year is his junior year of high school, so this schedule and classes have to be chosen very carefully.  Colleges look at the entire h.s. transcript, but they pay close attention to the junior year.  Mama was on a very different track in h.s., so I don’t have personal experience to draw from.  

 

The little/middle guy is working hard in school, we’re waiting to hear back about the next part of the admissions process for middle school.  He plays guitar, and played a song for me last night that he has been writing and working on for several weeks.  Yup, I’m a fan. 🙂

 

I haven’t been writing, but I’m thinking.  I’ve been looking at where I left off in my WIP, thinking about different options for moving the story forward.  

 

Hope everyone is doing well, thanks for reading.

 

Mama

 

4 Responses to “Mama’s World”

  1. CasaDe Says:

    Glad to hear about your tank success! And new fish!

    I hope the new med increase helps. You should be very proud of all your kids!

  2. mitchelllamamama Says:

    I am very proud of all 3, no doubt! 🙂 I’m a lucky Mama.

    And yes, today was a good, good day. 🙂

  3. shoesan Says:

    Keeping my fingers crossed for success with the new meds. MY DS is in the 10th Grade and we are going through the whole schedule thing. I don’t remember so much planning when I was in school. He is really done with HS (he cant graduate due to the fact that he needs 4 yrs of gym and SS) He will ultimately graduate with Double the credits and 10 college credits (He takes scale classes) I think kids today are under a LOT more pressure then when we were little (and walked uphill in the snow 😉 ) You should be a very proud mama! I wish I had SOME musical talent. I love to sing but I can’t LOL (my kids BEG me TO STOP) I played piano but I haven’t since surgery so I lost my left handiness. STRANGE. I would need to start from beginning lessons.

    YEA for new fishes!!! I’M SO tired!! I look forward to winter recess.

  4. mitchelllamamama Says:

    So far so good with the new increase of meds. LOL, it’s true, way less thought was put into my hs schedule. Actually I don’t remember even talking to my parents about it. Doesn’t your son need 4 years of English also? Or is it a combined Humanities course of SS and Eng? I think my musical talent is listening. 🙂 I can’t wait for the break next week. : )


Leave a Reply

