Mitchell-Lama Mama’s Blog

an ordinary life in an extraordinary city

Reprieve January 23, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — mitchelllamamama @ 6:28 pm
Tags: , ,

Today is starting to feel like a day of reprieve. The girl is still doing well. 🙂 🙂 🙂  My little slice of ocean is thriving, and Papa helped me to do the water change this morning.  I had a good phone chat with a long distance friend, and I was able to get an appt for this afternoon to get little guy’s hair cut.  The six line wrasse ate some prepared and non-live food for the first time today. And, let’s not forget, it’s almost Friday Night Madness.  Woo Hoo!! 

 

Mama, Mama

Cut the drama

How does your garden grow?

With tentacles and fishey smells 

And nerite shells all in a row.  

 

I’m thinking I should stay away from poems and limerics when I get back to writing. 😉  And yes, I will get back to it. 

One of the biggest challenges to living in this city without money or connections is school for the kids.  Little guy will be trying for a spot in a middle school that is amazing.  My big guy went there, but there’s no guarantees for siblings.  Makes me want to bite my nails, but it makes sense.  It’s an extraordinary (but very small)  school that requires a huge commitment from each child.  In return, they make a huge commitment to your child, and show the kids to doors that we wouldn’t even know existed if it weren’t for them.  I’m hoping he’s offered a spot, and hoping he’ll want to go if it’s offered.  

 

For now, I’ll just take a deep breath and enjoy that we are having a one day reprieve in our weather, it’s mild today.

 

4 Responses to “Reprieve”

  1. CasaDe Says:

    “And yes, I will get back to it. ”
    Such good news!!

    I am glad for the reprieve. Glad today was not unduly stressful, glad the saltwater is fresh (does that even make sense?).

  2. shoesan Says:

    LOL, I quite enjoyed your lovely limerick! But enough procrastinating WRITE (I used my teachers tone, did you hear it? :P)
    Such PRESSURE, waiting to hear if the little guy got in, when will WE know? 😀
    YEA for a day of reprieve! and FRIDAY to BOOT!! well deserved! So strange, 45 degree weather was like a heat wave after the horrible cold spell we had. It was so welcomed!I hope EVERYONE has a lovely weekend. I am looking forward to some DOWN time (stress free)
    Casa, it does make sense, fresh saltwater (clean of fish toxins I guess) are we right mama? It is kind of an oxymoron but I get it 😉

  3. Philly Mom Says:

    Oh, the weather in Philly was so beautiful yesterday, too! What a gift in January!!

    As someone who has tried writing, I also must feel good enough to write. It takes a lot out of you, and works better with less stress in your life so you can settle and imagine..

  4. mitchelllamamama Says:

    Tee hee, I hadn’t thought about it before, but yes. Fresh saltwater is an oxymoron. 🙂 Hi CasaDe!

    Well, Shoesan, I guess the question is whether or not you were watching me with the eyes in the back of your head while using your teacher tone. 😉

    Philly Mom, glad to hear you got a nice break with the weather there, too. 🙂 We all deserved some warmth! And thank you for saying you understand about the writing. ❤

    I hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend!


Leave a Reply

