Mitchell-Lama Mama’s Blog

an ordinary life in an extraordinary city

New Day, New President, New Fish January 20, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — mitchelllamamama @ 6:07 pm
Tags: , , ,

What a day, hmm?  Whether you supported Obama or not, there’s no denying what an electric day this is.  I have never seen such passion, such hope, as I see watching my TV screen right now, the mind boggling number of people standing in the cold to be a part of this day.  I don’t know if this is being done around the country, but here in NY all public schools are watching the inauguration.  

 

I think all agree there must be hope in order to move forward, whether on a personal, national, or international scale.  Hope, faith (spiritual, in humanity, or other), and acceptance of today–right now.  I’ve also come to believe we all need something to look forward to.  It doesn’t have to be grand, but there has to be something.  Otherwise we can’t accept today, work for tomorrow, or hope for the future.  

 

On another note, Mama’s got a new fish.  Papa brought home a surprise last night, a juvenile six line wrasse.  Very beautiful, and already adjusting to his new home, swimming through the gaps in the rocks, eating the reef bugs that are the sign of a healthy tank but oh-so-ugly. 😉

 

I also saw someone yesterday that I haven’t seen in a while.  This is someone I met several years ago when involved with a local writers’ group, who became  a friend.  🙂  The girl promptly introduced her to the Wii and conned her into playing a game of baseball on the Wii Sports game.  Anyway, this friend wrote the “book of her heart,” and now has an editor interested in her manuscript.  Why do I mention this, besides wishing her well?  Because writing, especially fiction writing, embodies what I’m thinking about today.  Hope, faith that your work will rise above the slush pile, acceptance of today (the hard work and patience involved), and looking forward.  

 

Wishing everyone a hope-full day,

Mama

 

3 Responses to “New Day, New President, New Fish”

  1. shoesan Says:

    what a day is right. Mine was horrible. It started off with a bang or should i say crash. I had a fender bender but thank goodness No one was hurt. BLACK ICE. as I waited (on backstreets of Queens) for the cops to come, I saw 4 more accidents. It was horrible. I found myself shaking and surrounded by ambulances. I was very lucky that I struck a van (he stopped me from going into the intersection) The other cars weren’t so lucky.
    I tredged on to work, visibly shaken, only to be yelled at and faced with streaming issues (which i tried to warn them) I manage to come up with solutions and WALKED out after the inauguration. SO Stressful. I am wiped. I need to sit in front of the reef tank!! YEA for papa and the new fish!!
    I am with you, Holding on to that glimmer of HOPE today. Maybe tomorrow will bring a better day.

    Other people’s triumphs ignite a flame in us, keep us going, help us to thrive and rise above! Whatever it takes!! 😀

  2. mitchelllamamama Says:

    Oh, shoesan, I’m so glad you’re alright. Too frightening. 😦 The ice was terrible this morning.

    YAY! for fixing the streaming problems in the midst of such stress–not to mention the disrespect.

    I’ll keep a spot ready for you on the couch, come enjoy the reef with me. 🙂

    Hang in there, tomorrow’s got to be better!

  3. cmscribbles Says:

    Shoesan~ :O what a day! I am thankful you didn’t go into the intersection and that no one was hurt. I am sure you were shaken–glad you overcame the work issues.

    Mama~ It was indeed an electric and hope FULL day 🙂

    Papa~ 😀 way to go on surprising mama with a new fish!


Leave a Reply

